Photo-a-Day June 2014

Photo-a-Day June 2014 at www.elistonbutton.com - Eliston Button - That Crafty Kid

Hello there Buttoneers! If you have been following me on Instagram or maybe even Twitter, then you may have seen that for the third time this year I have been taking part in Fat Mum Slim’s Photo-a-day Challenge

Here are my Photo a Day – March 2014Photo a Day April 2014 and Photo-a-Day – May 2014 blog posts. 

Photo-a-Day – June 2014 Round-Up at www.elistonbutton.com - Eliston Button - That Crafty Kid

I am really glad I started this photo challenge. I struggled through a fair few of them this month but I am super glad I stuck with it as looking back over the months round-up I feel like I have documented the month really well. As most of you know we moved house right bang in the middle of this month, the day after my birthday and a week before I opened the Eliston Button Etsy shop for the first time. This meant I have been super busy, pretty exhausted whilst trying to make a home, unpack boxes, build a lot of flat-pack furniture, photograph stock, write product descriptions and not get much sleep! Its been a little crazy but by taking that one photograph a day for each prompt, I have managed to document it all ten times better than I would have without the challenge. My future self will be grateful of this. 

I did have to make myself do some of them and really had to simplify the prompt into its most basic and ‘clutched at straws’ form! Some of them were very open to your own interpretation and, purely because I was so busy, I wanted someone to tell me what to take a photograph of! haha! I got there in the end! 

This challenge is really opening me up to not only think creativity in a different medium (photography) than I am used to (beyond by holiday snaps and blog photographs) but how I now think about composition and what those prompts mean to me.

Here is my June 2014 in a Photo-a-Day…

Day 1 – Joy – My Mum’s name is Joy 🙂

Day 2 – Doing – The exercise bike this morning was hard work after a hectic weekend getting ready for the move.

Day 3 – Family – My family on my gorgeous little sister’s PGCE graduation last year 🙂

Day 4 – Ordinary – Just an ordinary day in the studio prepping blog posts and being happily creative 🙂

Day 5 – 11 o’clock – I forgot to catch 11am on the clock but it’s still time for elevenses right!?

Day 6 – Adventure – Adventure is my #onelittleword for 2014 and this year it couldn’t have been more perfect for me!

Day 7 – Pattern – Playing with patterns on pretty Washi tape.

Day 8 – T is for… – Tea!

Day 9 – We Live Here – In just two days we will be able to say ‘We live here’

Day 10 – Flying – Caught this little fellow flying around my mum’s conservatory 🙂

Day 11 – The Beginning – As it’s my birthday today this prompt just had to be me at the beginning of my life 🙂

Day 12 – Pastel – I love the pretty pastel colours on my new dining chair cushions

Day 13 – Simply – Coffee for two in the sunshine in our brand new garden is simply marvellous!

Day 14 – Cross – Maybe it’s the end of a treasure map!?

Day 15 – Lovely – Lovely Lavender

Day 16 – In The Shadows – Shadow bunny likes to drink tea!

Day 17 – Peaceful – Lunch in the park again today with my love to get some fresh air from unpacking boxes was lovely and peaceful

Day 18 – Quirky – A rather quirky assortment of solar happy dancing lovelies on our kitchen windowsill

Day 19 – Habit – Now we have a shower in our new house (instead of just a bath) I am now in the habit of jumping in every morning!

Day 20 – Yay! – Yay to finishing the new sewing table build whilst listening to Elise Blaha Cripe in her fabulous podcast ‘Elise Gets Crafty’

Day 21 – Here I Am – In our new garden 🙂

Day 22 – Growing – Sally the succulent is growing nicely in the kitchen window 🙂

Day 23 – In This Moment – Planning out my blog posts

Day 24 – What June Looks Like – Boxes, boxes and more boxes and this is just the studio!!

Day 25 – Sun Flare – Sun flare on a gorgeous summers evening!

Day 26 – Dreaming – Of exotic places each time I gaze at this wallpaper that I am falling in love with and wondering where I could decorate with it!

Day 27 – Loving – Loving my family and fiancé, they are the best! Lovely cards and beautiful purple lilies congratulating me for the opening of my Etsy shop today! Feeling wonderful 🙂

Day 28 – Bed – Catching up (a day late) with yesterday’s photo-a-day prompt as after a fun-filled day celebrating my fiancés birthday! I crawled into bed and forgot the photo!

Day 29 – Delight – My beautiful lilies are starting to open up and are such a delight!

Day 30 – The End – All Was Well.  The End of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Phew!  Thank you for sticking with me! I am looking forward to starting the July prompts a little more relaxed (fingers crossed!) Well a girl can dream cant she!?

Follow mine on Instagram or have a go yourself using Fat Mum Slim’s Prompts

Let’s talk about them all! Which is your favourite? Meet me for a chat with a cup of tea in the comments below. I’ll click the kettle on!

www.elistonbutton.com

Chat to me Buttoneer!